## ANTHROPOLOGY FACULTY COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

## Academic Year 2021-2022

Below are the department committee assignments and other faculty service appointments for academic year 2021-2022. Thank you for participating in these important departmental responsibilities and your commitment to effective shared governance and university service.

**Director of Graduate Studies:** Kate Clancy

**Director Undergraduate Studies:** Ripan Malhi

**Director of Laboratory Research**: Stan Ambrose

**Liebman Undergraduate Research Program Coordinator:** Petra Jelinek

Faculty Liaison for Anthro Club/Lamda Alpha: Andrew Orta

Faculty Senate Representative: Jane Desmond

**Advisory Committee** Elected annually by the faculty to advise the Head on matters of substance, policy, and procedure and to carry out such additional duties and responsibilities as specified in the Bylaws and University Statutes.

Currently 2020-21: Stan Ambrose, Jessica Greenberg, Brandon Ritchison, Gilberto Rosas Kate Clancy (ex officio) Ripan Malhi (ex officio) - elections to be held for AY 21-22

**Tenured Faculty Committee** All active faculty members appointed on indefinite tenure. The committee's responsibilities are normally to advise the Head in matters concerning the evaluation and promotion and/or tenure of persons holding the ranks of Lecturer, Instructor, Assistant Professor and Clinical Assistant Professor.

Brenda Farnell (Chair), Stan Ambrose, Kate Clancy, Jane Desmond, Jenny Davis, Virginia Dominguez, Christopher Fennell, Jessica Greenberg, Faye Harrison, Lyle Konigsberg, Lisa Lucero, Ripan Malhi, Jeff Martin, Ellen Moodie, Andrew Orta, John Polk, Gilberto Rosas, Laura Shackelford, Helaine Silverman, Rebecca Stumpf

**Professorial Committee** All active faculty members holding the rank of Full Professor and the Department Head as Chair. The committee's responsibilities are normally to advise

the Head in matters concerning the evaluation and promotion of members of the faculty holding the rank of Associate Professor.

Brenda Farnell (Chair), Stanley Ambrose, Jane Desmond, Virginia Dominguez, Christopher Fennell, Faye Harrison, Lyle Konigsberg, Lisa Lucero, Ripan Malhi, Andrew Orta, John Polk, Laura Shackelford, Helaine Silverman, Rebecca Stumpf

**Graduate Admissions Committee** Responsible for the selection and recruitment of new graduate students for admission, and for the identification of fellowship candidates from the pool of newly admitted applicants.

Chris Fennell (Chair), Lyle Konigsberg, Ellen Moodie, Kate Clancy (ex officio)

**Awards Committee** Responsible for preparing nominations of anthropology faculty, staff, and students for campus and external (national and international awards), and the administration of Departmental Awards for faculty, staff, and students,

Laura Shackelford (Chair), Jessica Brinkworth, Ellen Moodie, Helaine Silverman, Kate Clancy (ex officio)

**Graduate Financial Aid and Summer Research Funding Committee** Responsible for making recommendations regarding financial aid for continuing graduate students, and for reviewing and ranking student funding proposals to the Graduate College and other units. Responsible for assigning grants to graduate students from departmental funds for summer pre-dissertation research.

Lisa Lucero (chair), Gilberto Rosas, Jessica Brinkworth, Kate Clancy (ex officio)

Colloquia and Intellectual Community Committee Responsible for planning and promoting talks, colloquia, workshops, and other departmental events and for coordinating departmental support for events initiated by other campus units. (Planning ahead for Sp 22 & Fall 22)

Jane Desmond (Chair), Jeff Martin, Brandon Ritchison + 2 grad students

**Courses and Curricula Committee** Responsible for reviewing curricula, making recommendations to the department for changes in curricula and assisting faculty in the course development process.

Virginia Dominguez (Chair), Katelyn Bishop, Lyle Konigsberg, Ripan Malhi (ex officio) + grad student

**Development Committee/Marketing and Communications Liaison** Responsible for periodic text and image updates to department website, working with department RA and other faculty as appropriate. Responsible for text of the alumni newsletter and other alumni relations efforts

Jeff Martin + 2 grad students (w/ Dora Kourkoulou)

**Diversity and Departmental Community Committee.** Responsible for developing and promoting department efforts to build a diverse scholarly community and for guiding department efforts to enact and update commitments detailed in the Departmental Action Plan of 2011 and 2021 Statements relating to Decolonizing Anthropology

Jenny Davis (chair), Krystal Smalls, Faye Harrison, Erin Riggs (+ grad student)

**Osteology Collections Committee** Responsible for reviewing the osteological collections and developing strategies for replacement of teaching materials.

Stan Ambrose (Chair), Laura Shackelford

**Human Remains & Ethics Committee** Responsible for documentation and repatriation of all unaffiliated Native American and other human remains held by the department or former Lab of Anthropology. Advisory to the Head with respect to NAGPRA compliance issues (Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act).

Jenny Davis (chair), Brandon Ritchison, Katelyn Bishop, Ripan Malhi (ex officio) (+ grad.)

## Ad Hoc Committees

**Grant Review Committee:** to provide graduate students with specific support and feedback in the grant-writing process, generating progress in the program and developing professional skills around writing, providing feedback, and incorporating feedback. Committee members would identify appropriate faculty to review grants-in-progress and provide comments before submission to a granting agency.

Success will help us 1) fund our program, 2) increase our students' abilities to finish in a timely manner, and 3) provide them with the financial and professional support to pursue their desired post-graduate careers.

Andrew Orta (Chair), Lisa Lucero, Lyle Konigsberg, Krystal Smalls, Kate Clancy (ex officio)

**Green Team** Responsible for identifying (and implementing) ways in which the department can be more environmentally conscious and move towards more sustainable practices.

Jessica Brinkworth (Chair) + any and all volunteers.....

**Capricious Grading Committee** A Capricious Grading Committee shall be appointed or elected annually by each unit's executive officer as needed. Student Code 3-107(b)

**Grievance Committee** A Grievance Committee will be appointed by the Head of the Department as needed. <u>Graduate College Website</u>.