We the undersigned faculty members of the Department of Anthropology
at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign condemn the Trump
Administration's recent decision to end the Deferred Action for
Childhood Arrivals program (DACA).  We recognize that this decision is
likely to criminalize many of our already vulnerable students, and we
oppose that.  Each and every student enriches our intellectual
community, and makes both the department and the university a better
place.  We endorse statements by University of Illinois
President Tim Killeen and UIUC Chancellor Robert Jones against the
termination of DACA.  Like them, we believe that this action by the
Trump Administration conflicts with this university's mission
statement and specifically with our mission as educators at a public
institution of higher learning. We urge its immediate reinstatement.

Interim Department Head and Professor Virginia R. Dominguez

Professor Stanley Ambrose
Professor Kate Clancy
Professor Jenny Davis
Professor Jane Desmond
Professor Brenda Farnell
Professor Christopher Fennell
Professor Jessica Greenberg
Professor Faye Harrison
Professor Cris Hughes
Professor Petra Jelinek
Professor Lyle Konigsberg
Professor Lisa Lucero
Professor Kora Maldonado
Professor Ripan Malhi
Professor Jeffrey Martin
Professor Jayur Mehta
Professor Ellen Moodie
Professor Andrew Orta
Professor Timothy Pauketat
Professor John Polk
Professor Gilberto Rosas
Professor Mahir Saul
Professor Laura Shackelford
Professor Helene Silverman
Professor Krystal Smalls
Professor Rebecca Stumpf