Department Committees

Department Committees


Academic Year 2019-2020

Below are the department committee assignments and other faculty service appointments for academic year 2019-2020. I thank you in advance for participating in these important departmental responsibilities and in your dedication and commitment to university service.

Director of Graduate StudiesLaura Shackelford

Director Undergraduate Studies:   Ripan Malhi

Liebman Undergraduate Research Program Coordinator: Petra Jelinek


Advisory Committee Elected by the faculty to advise the Head on matters of substance, policy and procedure and to carry out such additional duties and responsibilities as specified in the By-Laws and University Statutes.

Jenny Davis, Chris Fennell, Lyle Konigsberg, Laura Shackelford (ex officio)

Tenured Faculty Committee All active faculty members appointed on indefinite tenure. The committee’s responsibilities are normally to advise the Head in matters concerning the evaluation and promotion and/or tenure of persons holding the ranks of Lecturer, Instructor or Assistant Professor.

Brenda Farnell (Chair), Stan Ambrose, Kate Clancy, Jane Desmond, Virginia Dominguez, Christopher Fennell, Jessica Greenberg, Faye Harrison, Lyle Konigsberg, Lisa Lucero, Ripan Malhi, Ellen Moodie, Andrew Orta, John Polk, Gilberto Rosas, Laura Shackelford, Helaine Silverman

Professorial Committee All active faculty members holding the rank of Full Professor and the Department Head as Chair. The committee’s responsibilities are normally to advise the Head in matters concerning the evaluation and promotion of members of the faculty holding the rank of Associate Professor.


Brenda Farnell (Chair), Stanley Ambrose, Jane Desmond, Virginia Dominguez, Christopher Fennell, Faye Harrison, Lyle Konigsberg, Lisa Lucero, Ripan Malhi, Andrew Orta, Helaine Silverman


Graduate Admissions Committee Responsible for the selection and recruitment of new graduate students for admission, and for the identification of fellowship candidates from the pool of newly admitted applicants. 


Lyle Konigsberg (Chair), Lisa Lucero, Ellen Moodie, Laura Shackelford (ex officio)


Awards Committee Responsible for preparing nominations of faculty, staff and students for campus and external (national and international awards), and the administration of departmental Spring Banquet awards for faculty, staff  and students,


Virginia Dominguez (Chair), Helaine Silverman, Faye Harrison, Jessica Brinkworth

Graduate Financial Aid and Summer Research Funding Committee  Responsible for making recommendations regarding financial aid for continuing graduate students,

and for reviewing and ranking student funding proposals to the Graduate College and other units.  Responsible for assigning grants to graduate students from departmental funds for summer pre-dissertation research. 

Jessica Greenberg (Chair), John Polk, Lisa Lucero, Laura Shackelford (ex officio)  


Colloquia and Intellectual Community Committee Responsible for planning and promoting talks, colloquia, workshops and other departmental events and for coordinating departmental support for events initiated by other campus units. 


Jane Desmond (Chair), Lisa Lucero, John Polk, Jeff Martin + grad student TBA


Courses and Curricula Committee Responsible for reviewing curricula, making recommendations to the department for changes in curricula and assisting faculty in the course development process.


Christopher Fennell (Chair), Krystal Smalls, Ripan Malhi (ex officio), Valerie Sgheiza (Grad.)


Development Committee Responsible for text of the alumni newsletter and other alumni relations efforts


Jane Desmond, (working with Jeff Martin as “apprentice” to Jane)


Diversity and Departmental Community Committee. Responsible for developing and promoting department efforts to build a diverse scholarly community and for guiding department efforts to enact and update commitments detailed in the Departmental Action Plan of 2004 (updated in 2011). 

Kate Clancy  (Chair), Jenny Davis, Krystal Smalls, + grad. TBA


Faculty Senate Representative

Jeff Martin


Osteology Collections Committee Responsible for reviewing the osteological collections and developing strategies for replacement of teaching materials.


John Polk (Chair), Stan Ambrose, Lyle Konigsberg


Human Remains & Ethics Committee  Responsible for documentation and repatriation of all unaffiliated Native American and other human remains held by the department or former Lab of Anthropology. Advisory to the Head with respect to NAGPRA compliance issues (Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act).


Jenny Davis (chair), Chris Fennell, Laura Shackelford (ex officio)  Amy Carbaugh (grad.)


Green Team – responsible for identifying (and implementing) ways in which the department can be more environmentally conscious and move towards more sustainable practices.


Jessica Brinkworth (Chair), Lisa Lucero, Jenny Davis, Caitlyn Antoniuk (grad.) + any and all volunteers…..


Capricious Grading Committee A Capricious Grading Committee shall be appointed or elected annually by each unit’s executive officer as needed. Student Code 3-107(b)


Grievance Committee A Grievance Committee will be appointed by the Head of the Department as needed.  Graduate College Web-site.